

Australian Rural Leadership Program

Course 24 - Session Five and Graduation



Final Overview

The Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP) Course 24 undertook their final session in October and graduated at a ceremony on Thursday 18 October in Canberra.

The 33 Australian leaders came from diverse industries, communities and backgrounds and undertook the program over a 15-month period which included five sessions throughout Australia and one in Indonesia, with over 50 days face to face.

Course 24 have formed strong bonds with each other, as well as cross-sector and cross-community learnings that would not have been possible without taking part in the program.

Over the week the group had meetings and interacted in context with various leaders who have national responsibilities. Participants met with a number of political representatives at Parliament House, who discussed their perspectives on leadership.

The graduates were presented with their certificate by Australia's Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) who is Patron-in-Chief of the Foundation, and Her Excellency Lady Cosgrove.



The 2018 John Allwright Memorial Address was also presented during the ceremony by Elsie Seriat OAM and member of the ARLF Lead Network. She shared her amazing leadership story from the Torres Strait Islands, to the Indigenous Marathon Foundation.



I thought the ARLP was going to be the same sort of leadership program I had done previously – but it was NOT. I found the whole ARLP process confronting yet very empowering and liberating

Dale Chapman, sponsored by the Australian Government
Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

The ability to connect with like-minded people who provided a safe space to try new tactics in leadership and building relationships has already positively impacted life at home and at work

Amanda Johnston, sponsored by CBH Group



The ARLP has helped to develop a leadership skill set that I will utilise in my career in regional, rural and remote health. I aim to build on my ARLP experience and my new networks to help achieve meaningful outcomes for the communities in which I serve

Graduates of the Australian Rural Leadership Program 2018

Name	Location	Sponsor
Nathan Adams	Augusta WA	Fisheries Research and Development Corporation
Cameron Bell	Spring Gully VIC	VIC Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Owen Brinson	Silvan VIC	The William Buckland Foundation
Andrew Bulmer	Calulu VIC	Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Timothy Chaffey	Quirindi NSW	Cotton Research & Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Belinda Chambers	Rutherglen VIC	Wine Australia
Dale Chapman	Pomona QLD	Australian Government Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Dr Alexander Dunn	Gympie QLD	Prime Super
Tim Ferraro	Dubbo NSW	NSW Local Land Services
Luke Gaynor	Wagga Wagga NSW	NSW Department of Primary Industries
Stacey Giles	Rockhampton QLD	Australian Government Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Katherine Gunn	Curlewis NSW	Grains Research and Development Corporation
Ronald Hibma	Heyfield VIC	Gardiner Dairy Foundation
Barbara Howard	Perth WA	Australia Council for the Arts
Amanda Johnston	Perth WA	CBH Group
Paula Johnston	Townsville QLD	James Cook University
Simone Jolliffe	Euberta NSW	Dairy Australia
Rachel Kelly	Moama NSW	Ricegrower's Association of Australia
David Kimmorley	Hannaford QLD	Goat Industry Council of Australia
Stacey Lugsdin	Hay NSW	Australian Wool Innovation
Richard Malone	Griffith NSW	Cotton Research & Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Johani Mamid	Broome WA	Australian Government Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
William McCrohon	Merungle Hill NSW	Australian Lot Feeders' Association
Patricia McKenzie	Cunnamulla QLD	Goat Industry Council of Australia
Grant Melrose	Warwick QLD	Australian Meat Processor Corporation
Rebecca Milliken	Wagga Wagga NSW	Agrifutures
Freda Nicholls	Jones Creek NSW	Woolworths
Lynda O'Brien	Charters Towers QLD	Meat and Livestock Australia
Jason Phieler	Aireys Inlet VIC	Australian Government Department of Health
Aaron Scheid	Toowoomba QLD	Australian Pork Limited
Lillian Jane Shibasaki	Thursday Island QLD	Torres Strait Regional Authority
Kirrilee Warr	Yuna WA	Grains Research and Development Corporation
Katherine Waterhouse	Canberra ACT	Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources