Back to R&D main

Feedlot Australian Rural Leadership Program Scholarships

Project start date: 01 July 2011
Project end date: 31 December 2013
Publication date: 31 December 2013
Livestock species: Sheep, Goat, Lamb, Grassfed cattle, Grainfed cattle


Each year, Meat & Livestock Australia, in consultation with the Australian Lot Feeders Association, awards a scholarship to a beef feedlot industry representative to undertake the Australian Rural Leadership Program. Candidate selection is competitive and based on the Australian Rural Leadership Program selection process involving written application and interviews. The Scholarship is administered by the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.
Scholarship recipients include: 2004 Jason Shearer-Smith (Smithfield Feedlot); 2005 Michael Doyle (Beef City Feedlot); 2006 Troy Setter (Killara Feedlot); 2007 Jim Cudmore (Kerwee Feedlot); 2008 Stephen Reynolds (Charlton Feedlot); 2009 Geoff Cornford (Wainui Feedlot); 2010 Michelle Soulsby (Charlton Feedlot); 2011 Tess Herbert (Gundamain Feedlot); 2012 Bryce Camm (Wonga Plains Feedlot); 2013 James Palfreeman (JBS Swift Australia); 2014 Todd Fotheringhame (Fotheringhame Feedlot); 2015 Dave Bailey (Aronui Feedlot) withdrew; 2016 Steve Martin (Kerwee Lot Feeders); 2017 Course 24 - Will McCrohon (Riverina Beef); 2018 Course 25 - Lauren McNally (Mort & Co Grassdale Feedlot); 2019 Course 26 - Lachy Brown (Pakaderinga Feedlot); 2020 Course 27 - Jeff Schuller (Iranda Beef).