Back to News & Events

Subscribe to MLA’s newsletters

Stay informed with the latest red meat and livestock industry news, events, research and marketing.

Sign up

Innovative producers to be recognised

04 March 2021

Meat & Livestock Australia (MLA) is inviting forward-thinking red meat producers to enter the MLA Producer Innovation Award to have their pioneering achievements in building a resilient and progressive red meat industry recognised.

The award forms part of the Rabobank Beef Industry Awards presented by Queensland Country Life, at Beef Australia 2021 in May.

MLA Managing Director Jason Strong said innovation in the red meat and livestock industry creates a really exciting future.

“Red meat producers are at the forefront of driving this innovation, on-farm and through the supply chain – and this award is an opportunity to recognise some of the best of our industry,” Mr Strong said.

“MLA’s theme for its activities at Beef Australia 2021 is ‘redefining resilience’.  Looking ahead, resilience will allow the red meat and livestock industry to be agile and ambitious, to see adversity as opportunity, and to be competitive on the global stage.

“Resilience will allow the industry to be innovative and lead the world in sustainability and delivering high value, high quality products to customers, consumers and the community.”

The MLA Producer Innovation Award will be awarded to a beef producer that can demonstrate excellence in one or more of the following themes:

  • Accelerated adoption of innovations to improve on-farm performance.
  • Producer-led innovations resulting in new products, brands and value chains.
  • Producer-led new ventures and start-ups.

The winner will be invited to attend the Beef Industry Awards Dinner at Beef Australia 2021 on 3 May 2021, be presented a glass trophy, certificate and prize money of $1,000.00. 

Additionally, the winner will be given entry passes to Beef Australia for 2 days and accommodation for 2 nights, with travel and accommodation costs for the winner to be included in the prize.

The full award information, criteria and terms and conditions can be found at

Award applications and general award inquiries are to be sent to and received no later than midnight on Thursday 1 April 2021.