Back to News & Events

Subscribe to MLA’s newsletters

Stay informed with the latest red meat and livestock industry news, events, research and marketing.

Sign up

New South Wales finalists announced for MSA Awards

26 August 2019

The New South Wales finalists in the 2019 Meat Standards Australia (MSA) Excellence in Eating Quality Awards have been announced ahead of the awards presentation at Wagga Wagga on 12 September.

Hosted by Meat & Livestock Australia (MLA), the Awards recognise beef producers throughout Australia who have achieved outstanding compliance rates to MSA specifications, as well as high eating quality performance, as represented by MSA Index results for MSA graded cattle during the 2017-18 and 2018-19 financial years.

Awards will be presented for ‘Most Outstanding MSA Feedlot’ and two awards for ‘Most Outstanding MSA Beef Producers’, to recognise producers of both large and small (non-feedlot) MSA consignment volumes. One producer will also win the MSA Excellence in Eating Quality Progress Award for showing the greatest improvement in their MSA results since the last Awards series in 2017.

The Awards are being staged in conjunction with the ‘Consumer trends driving on-farm change’ producer forum at Wagga Wagga RSL, starting at 1.30pm.

MSA Program Manager Sarah Strachan said the Awards were a great opportunity to recognise producers who are committed to producing beef that consistently achieves exceptional compliance rates to MSA’s strict specifications and delivers a superior eating experience to consumers.

“We congratulate the finalists in this year’s Awards. It’s a major achievement to be named a finalist, given that more than 15,000 producers throughout Australia consigned over 6.6 million cattle to the MSA program throughout the 2017-18 and 2018-19 period,” Ms Strachan said.

The NSW finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Most Outstanding MSA Feedlot:

  • Bective Station Feedlot, Tamworth
  • Rangers Valley, Glen Innes
  • Wilga Feedlot, Bellata

Most Outstanding MSA Beef Producer (Band 1):

  • LD Campbell Pty Ltd, Merriwa
  • MK & LM Hunt, Merriwa
  • SJ & AG Spinks, Brinawa, Gulargambone

Most Outstanding MSA Beef Producer (Band 2):

  • TP & CJ Amey, Mummulgum      
  • J O & P J Campbell, Cambridge Park, Red Range
  • JB & DF Ward, Illawong, Table Top

MSA Progress Award:

  • Bective Station Feedlot, Tamworth
  • AE & CG Gillogly, Alco Feedlot, Moree

The Awards and producer forums are free and open to everyone, but registration is essential. To register, click here.