Back to News & Events

Subscribe to MLA’s newsletters

Stay informed with the latest red meat and livestock industry news, events, research and marketing.

Sign up

SAMRC appoints Regional Chairs for Northern NSW and Southern NSW

19 September 2018

The Southern Australia Meat Research Council (SAMRC) has appointed new Regional Chairs for its Northern NSW and Southern NSW Regional Committees.

Lu Hogan has been appointed Regional Chair of Northern NSW. Lu and her husband manage a farm in the New England area. Prior to this she managed a family farm in the NSW Riverina and managed and developed research and extension programs nationally

David Watt, a sheep and mixed farming producer from Trundle NSW, has been appointed Regional Chair of Southern NSW.

SAMRC Chair, Mr Angus Hobson also announced the reappointment of Ms Jenny O’Sullivan (Gippsland & Tasmania), Tim Leeming (Western Victoria) and Angus Whyte (Western NSW and SW QLD) as Regional Chairs. While announcing the appointees, Mr Hobson also paid tribute to outgoing chairs, Tom Amey (Northern NSW) and Andrew Rice (Southern NSW).

Mr Hobson added “these appointments follow a strong commitment to building industry and organisational capability and follow an extensive selection and appointment process”.

In accepting her appointment as the Northern NSW Regional Chair, Lu Hogan said “I am really looking forward to working with the committee, to identify investments that will make a big impact for sheep and beef producers in Northern NSW. There is so much we can do to make our businesses productive and resilient to the variabilities of climate.”

Incoming Southern NSW Regional Chair, David Watt said, “I am very excited at the prospect of working with the committee to identify and prioritise the research development and extension needs of red meat producers in southern NSW. Targeted RD&E is vital to ensure the long-term viability and profitability of the red meat industry.”

As part of the recruitment process, the majority of Producer Committee Member positons were up for re-election in all of the seven SAMRC regions. A mixture of current and new producer committee members have been appointed across the seven regions. The Producer Committees are paramount to the success of SAMRC and the setting of RD&E priorities.