Back to About MLA

Election of producer representatives to the MLA Board Selection Committee

Role of the Selection Committee

The role of the Selection Committee is to call for applications, review, interview and then report on the suitability of candidates for election or re‑election to the office of director of MLA.

The Selection Committee has nine members. The cattle, lot feeder and sheepmeat peak councils each appoint one member; two non‑voting members are MLA directors; and the remaining four members are producer representatives elected at the MLA AGM for a period of three years.

At the 2020 AGM, MLA producer members voted to elect three representatives, one each for cattle producers, sheepmeat producers and lot feeders to the Selection Committee. Dan Radel, Mark Wootton and Tony Fitzgerald were elected to the Selection Committee at that time and are completing year one of their three-year term.

Producer representatives on the Selection Committee are paid a sitting fee in accordance with MLA policy and expenses are covered for travel to attend meetings.

2021 Election

At this year’s annual general meeting (AGM) being held on 25 November 2021, MLA cattle producer members can elect one representative to the MLA Board Selection Committee for a three-year term.

Only members who hold votes in the cattle producer member class are eligible to vote.

All cattle producer nominees will be put forward to the AGM for a vote.

Cattle producer members wishing to nominate a person, or wishing to nominate themselves for election to the MLA Board Selection Committee at the 2021 MLA AGM, must give written notice to MLA by 20 September 2021.

Download the 2021 nomination for election to the Selection Committee form

Read the MLA Board Selection Committee charter